Home Development Assiniboine Park Pavilion Getting a Renovation

Assiniboine Park Pavilion Getting a Renovation

The Pavilion in Assiniboine Park will temporarily close on February 1, 2016 for a series of renovations.


The third floor gallery will be completely renovated and restored. Minor renovations will be done to the second floor galleries and main floor restaurant and event space.

New roofing, upgraded mechanical systems and insulation will be installed throughout the facility as well as other life-cycle upgrades.

“The Pavilion is a treasured, iconic building in Winnipeg and these upgrades will ensure that it can continue to serve its role in Assiniboine Park for many years to come,” said Don Peterkin, COO of the Assiniboine Park Conservancy. “By closing the galleries to the public, it will allow us to complete the renovations within a few months and have the building re-opened in time for the busy summer season.”

Renovations will be completed by late spring. A grand re-opening event will take place to celebrate the upgraded Pavilion.

Visitor services area and rest rooms on the main floor will remain open during renovations.

History of the Pavilion
The original Pavilion, designed by Winnipeg architect J.D. Atchison and built in 1908, was a two-story structure featuring a high tower, wide balcony, dance hall, banquet room, lunch and catering facilities. It was destroyed by fire in 1929; all that remained was the pergola and lily basin to the north. The second Pavilion was designed by local architectural firm Northwood and Chivers and constructed quickly over the next year, officially opening May 24, 1930. The architects imitated elements of early English architecture and gave the building a mock Tudor half-timbering, bell tower, and roof line reminiscent of thatching. Once home to a second level restaurant and dining room, the Pavilion fell into disuse and is remembered primarily as a seasonal facility with a main floor canteen and rental hall on the second level. The current Pavilion, beautifully restored and renovated, re-opened in October 1998.

Exit mobile version