All domestic travellers from other Canadian provinces entering Manitoba will be required to self-isolate for 14 days.

Previously, only travellers from areas east of Terrace Bay, Ontario, were subject to the requirement.

“Manitobans have worked incredibly hard over the last two months to flatten our COVID-19 curve, which has allowed us to take a cautious, measured approach to reopening some services in our province,” said Premier Brian Pallister. “Out of an abundance of caution, we are implementing more formal travel restrictions to protect Manitobans from the risks of COVID-19 being introduced to us further by travel including any new COVID-19 strains from other jurisdictions.”

There will be exceptions for people who live close to the Saskatchewan or Ontario borders and require travel for essential purposes such as groceries.

Rules for international travellers remain in place. Under federal law, international travellers are already required to self-isolate.